You have been selected as a beta tester for Facebook Lite!

08/12/2009 in Technology

facebook-lite

Has anyone else gotten this? When I click on the link, it takes me back to the homepage.

UPDATE 1: It looks like @Mashable and @TechCrunch have both posted limited information on Facebook Lite. As @Carl pointed out, TechCrunch has posted a screenshot from a few days ago of what appears to be the stripped-down service.

Facebook hasn’t published any official explanation as of this post.

UPDATE 2: It looks like the lite.facebook.com page has already been indexed.

lite-search

{ 26 comments }

george August 12, 2009 at 2:47 am

yeah I got it too but the link didn’t seem to do anything.. weird

Mattias August 12, 2009 at 2:47 am

Yeah I got the exact samething.

Jarrod August 12, 2009 at 2:48 am

Yep. Now the blue box has been removed… glitch in the system.

S1N August 12, 2009 at 2:48 am

yeah i just got that, no clue what it is… just took me back to the normal facebook page…

matt August 12, 2009 at 2:48 am

SAME!!!

Ethan August 12, 2009 at 2:49 am

I got it too. Might just have to wait a few hours and try the link again. I bookmarked it so I could try it later.

Willie Jackson August 12, 2009 at 2:51 am

Good idea. I’ll check back in the morning. Well…in the morning after I go to bed :)

Lars Damgaard Nielsen August 12, 2009 at 2:49 am

Got it to. And it took me back to my homepage too.

Willie Jackson August 12, 2009 at 2:51 am

Very strange.

Willie Jackson August 12, 2009 at 2:50 am

Perhaps DNS hasn’t propagated for the new URL? Maybe Facebook let this one out of the bag too quickly on accident.

S1N August 12, 2009 at 2:51 am

the box just re-appeared for me but the link just keeps taking me back to the homepage

Chris August 12, 2009 at 2:51 am

Yea, I just got it on my homepage, typed it into Google to see what it was about, and this was the only relevant article… Anyone know the details?

John August 12, 2009 at 2:52 am

Yep me too, and your are the only one that show up in google when I search for this facebook lite beta tester.. hehe

Willie Jackson August 12, 2009 at 3:22 am

I’m pretty excited about that, yeah :)

Mattias August 12, 2009 at 2:53 am

I typed lite.facebook.com into the address bar and it didn’t help at all.

MiKishi August 12, 2009 at 2:55 am

Yeah, I also recieved it. Go’s nowhere though, and it has now dissapeared from my header

Carl August 12, 2009 at 2:58 am

Here’s hoping FB Lite is like the old FB! A quiz-free experience would be wonderful!

Willie Jackson August 12, 2009 at 3:21 am

I’m with you on that one.

LK August 12, 2009 at 3:02 am

I got that too…and clicked on it against my better judgment….i’m afraid it’s some virus or spyware thing that someone hacked onto the system, since twitter was hacked again yesterday…..sigh, i wish we could get an answer soon from facebook, or i wish i could go back and not click it this time….

Stephanie August 12, 2009 at 3:03 am

I just had the same thought! Hopefully we will both be wrong:D

LK August 12, 2009 at 3:08 am

I hope so….i’m will now worry about this all night till i head to sleep, i knew i shouldn’t click it…but sometimes it’s like touching a hot stove when you are a kid….lol

Stephanie August 12, 2009 at 3:03 am

Got the same message…I’ll try in the AM as well b/c everything looks the same right now:)

Carl August 12, 2009 at 3:07 am

A screenshot of the concept: http://tcrn.ch/530d

LK August 12, 2009 at 3:18 am

thanks for that link, i feel better now that it’s not something malicious to click on the link….looks like that person had the publisher privacy control button too, wonder when i get that, i’ve been waiting on that thing since like forever…

Willie Jackson August 12, 2009 at 3:21 am

I don’t think you have to worry about it being a malicious link, LK.

Willie Jackson August 12, 2009 at 3:21 am

Thanks, Carl! I updated the post.